Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
699 Posts
Congratulations, Kyle, you have invented the belt. I'll be following you on the bumpy bits to collect everything that falls out :)

Kidding aside, what keeps everything from popping loose? The friction from the tube?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yeah, the tube helps quite a bit with keeping everything in place, and the simple physics of a cinch strap. it works really well. i've been using it for about two months, did a few races with it, one was a 100 miler and everything stayed in place. it didn't slip on the seatpost at all durring any of my rides or races.

·
Registered
699 Posts
kylerodland said:
yeah, the tube helps quite a bit with keeping everything in place, and the simple physics of a cinch strap. it works really well. i've been using it for about two months, did a few races with it, one was a 100 miler and everything stayed in place. it didn't slip on the seatpost at all durring any of my rides or races.
The one problem is that you might find it difficult to compete with under saddle 'speed bags'. I have several, and I don't think I've ever paid $7.99 for one because they go on sale. It's hard to compete with Chinese labor costs.

I think you'll need to find a niche- market it to guys to cool for a 'prissy' road bike seat bag, or find some other angle, unless you want to start selling them for two bucks (retail) and see if Performance will pick up the line.

·
Birdman aka JMJ
1,081 Posts
Have to say the same - seat bags are cheap and they keep mud off your gear. REI sells a similar strap for $2. I suppose you could throw everything in a freezer bag and then lash that to your seatpost.

So, you did a 100 miler without a hydration pack? WOW!

JMJ

·
Klein sits on shelf now..
173 Posts
Car keys??? He rides to the trailhead!