Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,606 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is my story. I started riding about 5 years ago after my divorce. My roommate (never had a roommate till I was 32) leant my his old Proflex. You know the ones with the rubber gommet suspension. Anyway, I cut my teeth on Ventura Co. trails. Mainly Sycamore Canyon just north of Malibu. Not a bad palce to learn to ride.

Soon I bought my own bike, A Gaint VT1. Gaint is based in Ventura Co Ca. and you can getting smoking deals on closeouts at Wheel World. I quicky began to do yearly trips to Moab and have ridden Tahoe, Brain head, Sedona, National, Flag (I moved to Az two years ago) and many other locs. The VT has also morphed to a custom Reign. I used to patrol around Rocky Point in Simi Valley. near the LA county line. (For those of you who don't know where that is, just look at any MTB Action mag. They do all there test and photo shots there. I met some Zoch reps and got a great deal on a ALL MT fork. I also added a TCR to my stable and the new wiffy has joined the game and has her own Reign and TCR.

I had found my passion!! I had the bikes, tons of gear now, clothing, tools etc.. I made weekly stops at new Preformance Bike by my house on way way home for work. (Just for gear!! no wrenching.) It would get harder and harder to find things I needed.

Then it happened! I didn't see it coming at first. Last year I fullfilled a life long dream. I bought an old Toyota Land Crusier. (Dont worry I'm still green. I drive a 35mpg car 95% of the time. I was going to just get an Outback, but wiffy forbade me driving a wagon.) Growing up in So Cal. I had always wanted one the iconic Land Cruiser. And its the type of truck that the older it is, the cooler it is. And weither brand new or all beat up, it's still classy.