Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I just installed a 203mm alligator disk rotor - the one with the shark fin pattern - on my 29er reba with bb7s. (The 185 seemed to fade too much after a long downhill with my 220 lbs + 30lb bike)

I'm getting a fairly strong vibration when I test them on the street braking hard. I can actually see the front hub moving forward and backwards to the vibration. The frequency is fairly fast. I'd be a bit nervous on a steep trail with that.

Anybody got any thoughts on fixes? The rotor seems nice - fairly light.

I noticed there is a bigger gap from the brake to the rotor. Ie, the brake sits slightly higher on the rotor than on the 185 which would put it more in the fin area of the pattern. Tho I suppose I could get new pads too. Or might it just go away?

·
Registered
115 Posts
I'm pretty new to disc's as well, but it sounds to me like you may want to go with new pads if you've put on a new disc.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
Can you remove some spacers from the caliper to put the pads further down on the brake track?

IIRC, the avids are set-up for 185mm rotors whereas the alligators are 180mm, thus the pads would be grabbing further out on the discs (finned area) and the lack of firm contact could be causing the vibration.

I would also get some new pads. Get some sintered pads, EBC gold pads are some that have been recommended. Check out the weight weenie forums for a huge thread on these discs.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for responding civil.

I wasn't aware I could make that kind of adjustment on bb7s. I did contemplate trying to mill the post extension but that seems like a last resort. I'll take a look to see if I missed an adjustment for the offset of the caliper.

These are 203 rotors btw but I don't think that would make a difference.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
drdre said:
Thanks for responding civil.