Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm going to do the Great Allegheny passage from Pittsburgh to Cumberland June 1-3. We're only doing 50 miles each day and just hanging out most of the evenings. This is my first time doing a multi-day endurance ride, but I'm just curious if any of you have done it before and if so, a couple questions.

1: We're arriving on a train Sunday night, and are planning on doing the first 43 miles at night until we get to our first campsite. Does anybody know if the Allegheny trail at the Pittsburgh entrance is closed at night or if it would be a problem?

2: Are the trails distant from civilization where we should pack a good amount of food, or should we be okay with energy snacks and stopping at grocery stores on the way?

3: Is the terrain pretty much groomed loose gravel?

4: I understand this question is probably for a different forum, but I have three bikes; 24lb hardtail 29er | 29lb full suspension 650b | 35lb rigid fat bike...

My friend is using my carbon 29er, since it's his first time doing this distance and I want it to be the best experience for him. As for me, which of the other two bikes do you think I should go with? The rigid fatbike or full suspension 650b? I'm weighing pros/cons of on-trail maintenance versus what is best for my endurance.

Thanks for reading and special thanks for any input!

·
Registered
443 Posts