Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to mountain biking. I currently have a Motobecane 400 ht and I am wanting to upgrade to a better bike. I was wanting to go to a 29er with 2X10 gearing and get away from the cheaper coil forks. I have a specialized dealer close to me that has a Rockhopper Comp and a Crave 29er. I was pressed for time while I was there and did not get to ride either but I did sit on the Crave and liked it from what I could tell. I have a Trek dealer about 60 miles away that I visited yesterday. They did not have much available but did have a 2013 Stache 7. I rode it and it felt ok. The handlebars felt a little wide but something I could get used to. The Stache was 1599 with a 10% discount for being last years model. From reading on this forum I was expecting a larger discount for a year old model. I am planning on going to my local shop and seeing what their two models feel like. I know that the Crave and Stache are aimed at different crowds. The trails that I ride do have quite a few rocks and roots but no jumps or anything like that. I do not plan on racing this is just for the fun of riding on the trails. I would think that the Stache lines up more with what I will be riding but I wouldn't think that it was be too hard on the Crave. Any advise.

·
Registered
14,060 Posts
35% off is the max off on last years bikes at bigger platinum level Trek dealers. Yours sounds small if they don't have much stock at this time of year when the biggest number of sales take place. Marked price is only a starting point.