Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I have been coming to this site for a few years now and reading the reviews prior to making my purchases, yet I had not registered on the forums until today. Even though this site has given me a wealth of resources out side the forums, I am now in need of people's opinions concering full suspension frames.

Here is my problem, I have always used a hardtail when riding and have upgraded my bike over the years with alot of parts. Well now I want to change the frame on my bike, the frame is an older Giant Crappy Iguana frame. I do want to wish to acquire a full suspension frame, and believe me I have looked at quite a few. My only issue is disc brakes, you see I do not want to go disc brakes so I dont know which to get that will support the V brake system.

Now the reason why I do not want to go Disc brakes, is because my bike has the Old School Spin Y Rims on it and they are in excellent shape. I took care of them over the years. Unfortunately these rims do not support disc brakes so therefore it's either keep the cool rims I love of go Disc brakes.. Since I am not a hardcore rider I would rather keep my rims for now abd get an older frame.

So now I ask you what frame is good to purchase even though it may be a few years old which will support the V brake system? I am not looking at killing my bank on a new used frames so any suggestions you have will be great.

Also what should I look out for (cons) when purchasing a used older full suspension frame?

Thank you for any input which you may give!
George

·
Registered
479 Posts