Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there was a show of hands for those riding singlespeeds, I don't know the
percentage but from what I saw it must been a large number. 100% of the Flo-town riders were on singlespeeds, Milt on his vintage Surly and me on my new Mary SS.

I remember wondering after a few miles of Whypass if I'd ever ride my geary again, I had
so much fun and the 29er was an awesome ride. I was curious about others who've made the step up to big wheels, what are your impressions of your 29" bikes vs your 26" rides. I know Shiggy, Albee and others are riding 29"/SS I'd be interested to know what you like about your 29ers.

I'm fairly new to SSing, I built up a 26" SS bike from my old Trek hardtail about 8 months ago and loved it. So as a reward for working my butt off this year I bought myself the Mary SS, Whypass was only my second ride on the 29er. It may have been new bike euphoria but I felt like I was on wings. The big wheels just wanted to keep turning, when I started to slide through the muddy corners I just let off the breaks and the bike seemed right itself, and pedaling actually felt easier. Again it may just be that I'm excited about the new bike but I'm impressed with the performance of the larger wheels.

Interested to hear your thoughts.

Jolly

·
Registered
683 Posts
Sometimes it's harder to get those wheels a-goin', but when you do, it rocks. I can go over bigger stumps and logs pretty easily, so it's also getting my confidence up for technical stuff that I might not do otherwise.

Looking forward to tonight's ride....Alpine Trail....yummy....