Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using Surly steel cogs exclusively on my SS for many years and still do. My buddy gave me an absolute black 18t cog so I tried it out and shortly after I put mine on his fell apart. I expected mine to shortly but it made it a few months. I don't recomend this product.
IMG_0487 by driverfound337, on Flickr

·
Registered
20 Posts
That's pretty spooky. I use the Surly steel cogs, too, but also the Endless Bike aluminum and the EBs have never been a problem, though, of course, they're not cheap.

·
Wanna ride bikes?
8,655 Posts
That's the first AB cog I've seen busted on here, but not the first cog we've seen broken by any means. Aluminum, stainless, I've seen and broken a few.

I mostly run Surly cogs though. Price and durability are hard to argue with.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I've read somewhere about surly chain rings being no good, cogs haven't heard a bad thing.

·
Hooligan
992 Posts
Have you contacted them to see if they will issue a warrantee? seems like a manufacturing defective, an impurity in the metal or something. assuming the chainline is relatively straight, the load should be distributed enough that 3 teeth won't just break off like that.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I did contact them, awaiting response, not worried about a replcement since it'd likely be useless on a mtb, maybe for light duty bike, but like I said my buddy had one too, same thing.....

·
Registered
732 Posts
I did contact them, awaiting response, not worried about a replcement since it'd likely be useless on a mtb, maybe for light duty bike, but like I said my buddy had one too, same thing.....
Weird. I hammered a 20 AB cog on my Krampus for a couple of years. Never had an issue. Except I think N/W on a SS cog is kinda silly.