Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to figure out what my next bike should be. I know that I'm not the only one with this "problem," but I have a somewhat difficult conundrum to deal with as part of the decision. Two years ago I moved to Houston from SLC, Utah. I broke my FS 26er frame just before moving, so I built up a 26er hardtail with the leftover components and a five inch fork. It is plenty for riding anything in Houston, as there isn't anything that requires a FS bike. The problem is that I'm a school teacher, so summers mean month-long trips to Idaho/Utah/Wyoming for mountain biking adventures.

I would like to get a 29er, but I can't decide if I should opt for one of the many 120mm FS trailbikes that are out this year (either building up myself or stock from the factory) Or if I should get something like the Paradox. I was fine with my hardtail last summer in the Alpine loop of American Fork Canyon, as well as on Slickrock, but it left wishing I had a FS bike to ride. If I get the ride I want for my summer trips, it will definitely be overkill for Houston area trails. If I get a bike appropriate for the Anthills in Houston, it will perhaps leave me with the same feeling of wanting more I had last summer. What would you guys do in a similar predicament? I'm looking at around $3000 (give or take) if I get a FS bike, but probably less if I build a hardtail. I know I could just ride my current hardtail in Houston and travel with the new ride, but I don't think I could resist riding my shiny new toy, even if the rides don't really justify the hardware.

Sorry if this is rambling. I'm writing on my lunchbreak. TIA

·
Trail Junkie
2,210 Posts