Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys i'm a newb and i'm sure you need more information but i'm doing a 9 mile trail tomorrow morning and just need some sort of guesstimate on how long it should take. I believe some categorized it as intermediate trail. I attached a map of the park and i'll be doing the 9 mile crooked creek trail (in pink). If anyone could help me out I would appreciate it.

http://www.fl-dof.com/state_forests/sf_pdf/trail_walker_trotter_maps/pine_log_tw.pdf

·
Tough Guy Extraordinaire
601 Posts
Anywhere from 30 mintutes to 4 hours. Really depends on the amount of climbing and the type of terrian, i.e. rolling singletrack vs. rocky baby-heads. Ride it for yourself and try to get faster each time. This is really the best way to judge.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok...your right I will just have to try it out. I'm just trying to decide what time to get up tomorrow and make sure I get back home before work. I don't think there's very much climbing. It's here in the panhandle of Florida so not to hilly.

·
1,534 Posts
52:31 if all conditions are ideal, your FTP is 201 watts with a weight of 175lbs and you go at a moderate pace

56:19 if it's raining out

56:45 if its raining and you have to stop for more than 2 hikers

1:05:32 if you flat

2:32:09 if you break a chain exactly halfway through and forget your chain tool

·
Registered
246 Posts
if you're planning on how much to pack or what not... I usually guesstimate off how fast i can walk, depending on terrain. for example, if it takes you an hour to cover 3-4 miles, then 9 miles could be anywhere between a 2-3 hr ride. not really saying that's how long it's gonna be, more of a precaution so you don't pack too much or too little or if you have to walk out or something...

·
Registered
1,673 Posts