Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to the frame building world but not new to bikes or machining. Really looking forward to getting into the craft and playing with geometry, materials, and techniques.
Even though it may be a little backwards (since I still don't know my way around a torch!) I thought I'd start with building a frame jig. It's been a fun project and I thought I'd share the details so far.

Design is based off of the Arctos frame jig clones.
Tanner W.'s ever popular jig:
Bicycle Frame Building Jig
Pithy Bikes similar jig and great videos:
https://www.facebook.com/pithybikes
And 44 bikes frame jig:
https://flic.kr/p/4935230598
I decided on a hybrid of all of these since I liked the fixed BB position of the 44 jig but the axle support of Tanner's jig. I went with the fixed BB position because I didn't feel that I would be able to machine the slot accurately enough on my mill since I don't have CNC or a rotary table. It just seems to make most sense to me to have your major datum fixed instead of simulated.

For extrusion I used Misumi 40 series stuff. 160-40 for the bottom rail and 80-40 for the vertical. I HIGHLY recommend Misumi for your extrusion, it's really high quality and much cheaper than 80/20 brand. They also custom cut for no extra change so you only pay for what you need. My only complaint is that this series is drilled for an m12 blind joint hole. That's a big bolt!
Total spend on extrusion: $153

Small parts and hardware were all sourced from McMaster, I've made two orders so far and I hope not to have to make another. Was going to go with handles for every movement point but then I realized I could get a box of M8 screws for the price of one handle!
Total hardware spend: ~$75

For the aluminum, our local material supplier has a great remnant area of 6061 for $2.50/lb. I found everything I needed an more here.
Total material spend: $80