Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there's at least a couple of you Knolly lads running 2010 66 RC3 Ti's and i seem to remember there being some talk about a showdown with the totem. did it ever happen?

I'm currently running 2009 66 RC3's and am either going to go for the new RC3 Ti or possibly the 2010 totem but having never spent much time on a totem I'd like to hear from those who have used both.

be interesting also to hear from anyone thats ridden the older 66 and the new one. is there much difference other than the weight?

by the way, in case it's not common knowledge just yet I heard from an official Fox source that there will be a 180mm 36 this year. woo hoo!:thumbsup:

ta

·
Registered
1,678 Posts
Not sure about this!?

Dip-
I have no knowledge of anyone that has tried the 2010 Totem. I don't think they are out yet?
The 66Ti is a lot plusher in the beginning of the stroke than the previous Totem. People have removed the flood gate and this improves this. The rest of the stroke on the 66 is incredible. Very progressive and I have rarely used all of it.

As far as FOX goes, they should finish and put out the 170mm 36 that they've been working on before they put out a 180mm!? :confused:

·
Registered
4,370 Posts
2010 66 RC3 Ti

I had an 08 66 RC3 that was junk. It developed bushing play and the dreaded crown creak all in the first two weeks of riding. The 2010 model has none of that and is much plusher in the initial 2 inches of travel, it has great mid stroke feel and then the last inch of travel feels bottomless, I have bottomed mine repeatedly and I couldnt even tell when it happened. The 2010 doesnt have the top out clunk that the 08 had and the new 20mm axle is a big improvement over the 08/09 version. In regards to a 180mm 36, I would think they would need to go to 38mm stanchions otherwise they might loose some stiffness in the fork. Fox needs a 180mm fork in their line.

·