Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure this question has been asked hundreds of times so I apologize in advance. I'm interested in trying some 650b wheels on my commuter bike, and so I'm looking for some tires that are extremely low rolling resistance because the bike sees mostly pavement and just a few dirt trails here and there during my commute to work. I know the list of 650b tires is currently short and growing; since I'm new to the 650b universe I was hoping someone could recommend something. A semi slick mountain tire is really what i would love to use. Does anything exist or should I just HTFU and put some neos on it? :rockon:

·
Registered
875 Posts
Cool, glad its what you were looking for. I wish I had some personal experience with 650b tires to pass on, but alas, I do not. 650b.com has a pretty thorough review of the Fatty Rumpkins. Of course, Grant Paterson likes all of them - he designed most of them (or something like that).

·
Registered
847 Posts
I tried the Rumpkins commuting last year and they were ok. I also took them out on hardpack and was surprised how well they stuck. IMO they are best as a bad pavement, rail trail, mild dirt tire.

Compared to a real mtb tire they would be lower rolling resistance but I'm not sure that I would characterize them as "extremely low rolling resistance". On regular city pavement they are comfy but not very fast.

chazz michael michaels said: