Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
My wife is looking to get back into Mountain Biking and I need some help. She is 5'3" and in her mid 50's. She last rode regularly about 20 years ago and still has her Trek 26" hardtail. I think a 27.5 would be a good choice but I have no experience with them. We live in a mountain/ski town with lots of trails. She is looking for an entry level bike to get back into the sport but not looking to be the next DH champ. So, any suggestions or feedback on current offerings would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
50 Posts
Being that they are so new you probably won't mind many entry level hardtail 27's, more are going to be 26 and 29. The only 27.5 hardtail I even know of is the Pivot LES, I'm sure there are others that's just what I know of.

·
Registered
250 Posts
Pivot LES is not entry level but it is a lovely bike
giant have tons of options in both womens specific and not in hardtail 27.5 so check them out
talon, XTC and Tempt

·
Registered
10 Posts
I am a newbie to any kind of biking and I got giant Talon 27.5 5 (for $520). i rode the beginner trail for couple of hours and I like it!! I take it to paved (asphalt) path as well.
I thought 29 was a bit too big for my liking, I am 5 7.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Not sure if you have access to Norco but they make a Revolver in 27.5 thats around 2000. That may not be entry level but it is a nice light HT that she will like my wife has the midrange one on order. My wife is 5'5" and she is on a medium.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·