Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
3,163 Posts
Mikekune594 said:
Does anyone here actually downhill race there Ironhorse Six Point Fours?

If so, whats your setup for racing?
I don't race mine but if I did, I would put a 8.5" x 2.5" shock on it and run a 180mm single crown up front. Stock shock is 8.75" x 2.5".

The shorter i2i will lower the BB and slacken the HA. The 180mm fork will also slacken the HA. With both of these specs the HA will probably be near 66 deg.

· Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
But you wouldn't care about losing travel and ground clearance?
also could you make up for your lost travel in stroke?
I'm new to rear suspension and DH...

· Registered
3,163 Posts
Mikekune594 said:
But you wouldn't care about losing travel and ground clearance?
also could you make up for your lost travel in stroke?
I'm new to rear suspension and DH...
With a 180mm fork, You would gain ground clearance. My BB height is 14.25" with this setup. Stock BB height is 13.78". The IH Sunday is 13.9" But should run more sag.

So the stock shock has a length of 8.75" and a stroke of 2.5". Using a 8.5"x 2.5" shock will not reduce travel. It will just lower the BB and slack the geometry.

So 180mm for will raise bike, 8.5" i2i shock will lower bike. So BB height may be around 13.5".
You could also add the Externalizer headset extender cup to raise the front up even more.
Enduro sells it. But I haven't heard anyone running it with a 180mm fork. It might put stresses on the bike it wasn't designed for.

I would say a lighter rider would be fine. The 6point was not made to DH though IMO

· Registered
821 Posts
I'm sure you can DH race it! I haven't heard of anyone doing this but why the heck not?