Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am gonna get my Spot, I have all the parts that I had on my 6.6SS.
Stun's wheel set with 2.5 minions,
Havoc wheel set with 2.35 TT larsen
and.... 55 ATA fork 165-125.

Do you think its too much (the fork) for the bike, I want it with the Havocs for desert trips and the Stun's for the wild stuff.

Thanks

·
trail fairy
9,546 Posts
No probs should be OK not my first choice of fork and also since that fork probably had the most issues of any 08 model in the range, they apparently have resolved many of the issues in the later 08 batches but I have no experience if this is true!

Superstock runs a 55ata on his 5Spot!

My buds been running a 888sl ata a later production run and alls sweet so ya maybe ok!

·
carpe mañana
7,297 Posts
The geo with the 55ATA should be pretty excellent. That is is you're into that sort of thing.

_MK

·
striker!
610 Posts
I have run the 55 on my 5.5 spot all year and I like the setup although I find myself riding the bike a little differently. If I'm hitting a drop where I know I'm going to bottom, I nose in just a little so the fork takes a little more of the impact. If its a big enough hit and both tires touch at the same time, the rear will bottom before the front so I found myself making this adjustment. I love the ATA adjustment and slam the front down for steeper climbs. I like having it mostly extended for the downhill to slacken out the HA and make it more stable for the steep stuff.

For more aggressive trail riding, 2.5 fit fine and a coil makes the Spot even tougher. Pics here.

I've had issues with the fork as it was an early one. Right now, I'm not getting the last half inch of travel and may need to send it in again. It is light and the ATA is awesome for dialing in the bike for different terrain so I put up with the rest.

S

·
Team Sanchez
4,369 Posts