Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not new to riding. But I am new to trying the 'ultra distance' stuff. Thus doing the 64 miles at The Death March rather than the 100.
I'm good at the hydration and refueling but my issue is pain management.
I dislocated a hip many years ago and it still lets me know about it after a good hard ride. I also have neck issues that seem mostly muscle related.
My questions are on how do deal with them during a long race.
I use Advil, three before a long ride, but have never taken any during a ride. It helps, but isn't a complete solution.
What have you tried that works?
How about for the neck? Anything like a topical solution?
I still have not had my bike professionally fitted. I'm hoping to get that done soon, but I'm not thinking the results will completely solve the issues. Hey, I'm an old moto guy who has managed to damage myself through the years. I'm just trying to not get fat!

·
Registered
373 Posts
Well, I am 50 this year and started racing distance at 48. I am also a physical therapist. I would advice a bike fit, and seeing someone who can identify a plan that might help, say a strength or flexibility program related to your hip and one for our neck. You are treating symptoms with the Advil and topical applications. Not to say every situation can be resolved, but I would certainly see someone good and give it a shot.

·
Registered
755 Posts
I'm 52 also and I've been racing for nearly 25 years. The endurance thing is pretty addictive. You're going to love it. 2 things- get a pro bike fit and do some research in regards to Advil, hydration and kidneys.
Good luck and have fun.

·
Team Velveeta™
3,079 Posts