Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

· Registered
376 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evening all,

As the subject says it all. I have been riding twice a week for the last 3 months and am currently up to 20 miles on the weekends. I stretch every single morning for 30 minutes TRYING to make these lower back pains that come on at around 12 - 15 miles give or take. I know my cardio and legs will handle the 50K no problem, but I am afraid the lower back will not let me.
What do you all think about an aspirin before I head out or maybe 10 miles in? I will continue to stretch and ride and work on core, but I have this race Oct. 16th. There is no giving up on this. There has got to be something to help me get through this.

The bike is set up good. I am working on my ride posture, don't know what else to ease this lower back pain.

Any advice would be great please.

Thanks

Sid

· Registered
Getting too old for this...
1,251 Posts
The only thing that has helped me is to stand up way more than I ever did. Every short climb, I stand up and try to physically not arch my back. Watch how Jenny rissveds races, and you’ll see it. She sits more upright and it looks a bit odd. But that one thing, realizing how I hunched over while seated. I found a coach for mtb strength training, and his first message was how sitting down and hammering is hard on the low back.

Easy enough to try, it’s free, but does take some work to get your standing leg muscles used to it.

That, andrubbing AMP pr lotion helped too.

I tried rubbing icy hot before races, Advil before, didn’t help me. I’m 53 and have been training and racing 31 years straight now. It’s always been an issue.

· Registered
76 Posts