Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Brand new to the mountain biking world. In fact, I haven't even started yet. I am a photographer and am looking for a way to get around town and around trails to get shots and exercise. Right now I do a lot of hiking but I am looking to have some fun in addition to shooting images. So here is the deal . . .

6’3” and 240lbs. with $500 to spend. I have no clue about hardtails/disc brakes/banana seats/etc. I am willing to get a used bike, so I hope that opens more options if needed. Another slight problem is the fact that I am looking for some immediate gratification so I am hoping to make a purchase this week. Can anyone point me in the right direction? What should I look out for (good or bad)? Is there something I should say to make the sales guy think I know what I am talking about?

Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

·
Steamroller
1,227 Posts
Decent hardtail for $500

You should be able to get a decent name brand hardtail for $500 and probably a fair front suspension fork. This is a good time to look because those shops with a lot of '04 bikes are starting to discount them in anticipation of the '05 arrivals. I would look for a name brand like Trek, Giant, Cannondale, GT or Specialized. You should be able to get a good chromoly or aluminum frame with low to mid range Shimano or Sram components.