Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this in wheels and tires but got no action but it is Turner related so here goes.

I have 3 disc wheel sets, King / VCX, Hope Bulb / 317, XT / Rhyno Lite. I was thinking of putting a heavier duty rim on the Bulbs and then selling the XT / Rhyno's. These will be used in some pretty rocky terrain but no big drops. I am thinking of trying tubeless and have read that the 819 is pretty durable. I weigh 220lbs and these will be on my 5 Spot most of the time. Any other suggestions?

Can regular tires be run tubeless on 819's and other tubeless rims with Stan's sealant?

·
Registered
2,516 Posts
Travis Bickle said:
Any other suggestions?
I've no experience with Mavic latest offerings, but I've run a Sun Singletrack, which I understand is the disc version of the Rhyno Lite, up front the past couple of month now with good success. They can be a b!tch to install and remove a tire off of.

·
Not just famous; infamous
1,069 Posts
Travis Bickle said:
I posted this in wheels and tires but got no action but it is Turner related so here goes.

Can regular tires be run tubeless on 819's and other tubeless rims with Stan's sealant?
Yup. I'm running Kenda Nevegal 2.35's on 819's with some Stan's and they're working great. No flats, no complaints. I'm probably losing about 4-5psi a week, but I've had tubes do that on me. I change my pressure according to the terrain before every ride anyway, so it's no big deal. I would say that if you're not having problems with the VCX or 317s and you wanna use tubeless rims, the 819s will be perfect. If your rims flex or you're getting flat spots, definitely look at the 823s.

·
Registered
8,564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
819 vs 823