Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am seriously looking at a 5 Spot, but am trying to figure out the right frame size. I am 6'1.5" with a 23.5" inseam. Using competitve cyclist's calcumator, it calls for a virtual top tube of 25.3-25.7", the XL is 24.8", so that would seem like the obvious choice.

What are you 6+ ft guys riding out there?

I've been riding Spech FSR's size XL for the last 5+ years and really did enjoy it on the open/fast sections, kind of felt like a barge on the tight technical stuff.

I just moved to Salt Lake, so I'll be doing Rocky mountain riding, 24 hr races, X-terra stuff, MOAB, etc. Is the flux maybe the way to go?

Also, on the 5 spot, do most of you ride the RP3 or DHX rear shock (I'll be more XC oriented).

Thanks in advance,

Moises :confused:

·
Registered
95 Posts
XL for me

I'm 6'-2" with a 35.5" inseam and could not be happier with my XL w/ RP3. I ride primarily XC and the bike is fantastic. I prefer to have a bike setup without a ton of seatpost or 2-3" of spacers on the steer tube, which I probably would have had if I had chosen to go with a large. I originally thought that I would be running a shorter stem with this setup, but swapping back and forth between a 90 and 120, I actually find I prefer the setup with the 120 - so there is actually some room to shorten my cockpit up if that helps at all.

There were some good threads earlier this year with comparisoin between the L frame and XL, but I don't know if those are accessible - I just tryed a search and didn't get too far.

Of course the standard advise applies - try to find a L or XL and ride it! I was able to find a Large in my area which helped a bunch, but no XL. The next best thing is to do what you are doing now, which is measuring and riding bikes of similar dimensions to see how they feel.