Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
striker!
610 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Its that time of year to update the 5 spot with a fresh frame so I order one up (gotta go with the green this time) but hear that they are out of the HL version and only have TNT from this point on. There have been a lot of TNT reviews and they have all said good things about it but I want to test it myself. I want to evaluate it where I do a lot of my riding and can really concentrate on the bike. I've been riding this local spot for over ten years. Five of those years have been on an RFX and couple 5 spots. If there is a difference, I'm sure I will be able to tell riding here.

Here is the plan: take my existing HL five spot and run it through a battery of tests in all sorts of conditions: banked turns, flat turns, stutter bumps, braking, rock technical sections, drops, jumps, rocky climbs and steep, loose climbs. Then, with the help of my two buds, tear down the HL (blue) and build up the TNT (green). Everything will be exactly the same: same wheels and tires, tire pressure, fork settings, brakes, cranks and I will even take the same DHXA off of blue on put it on Kermit so we will have identical rear shock settings. Then take the TNT bike out and perform the same exact tests. To make it even better, we will videotape the test sections for all to see.