Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding my 2018 Mach 429 trail for several years without any issues until last week. I was riding and noticed my shifting went from good to terrible within 10 miles. I got off the bike for a quick look and saw the rear axle had started to backout. I screwed in tight and all was good.

Now I am checking the axle every 5 miles which is annoying. Any thoughts on why all of the sudden this is a issue?

Hardmix

·
Registered
34 Posts
Nor experienced it myself. However perhaps a dab of locitite will help?

Sent from my HD1900 using Tapatalk

·
change is good
Switchblade with a 38, 29+ rigid WaltWorks
3,326 Posts
I have been riding my 2018 Mach 429 trail for several years without any issues until last week. I was riding and noticed my shifting went from good to terrible within 10 miles. I got off the bike for a quick look and saw the rear axle had started to backout. I screwed in tight and all was good.

Now I am checking the axle every 5 miles which is annoying. Any thoughts on why all of the sudden this is a issue?

Hardmix
It just happens. It also happens on my Switchblade. I check every 2-4 months riding 4-5 times a week. No biggie. Just don’t over tighten it because getting the wheel off on the trail can be difficult.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

·
Registered
119 Posts

Hardmix
I switched to one of these years ago:

BK.jpg

https://www.backcountry.com/shimano...mnal6djlbcudgNSZilE8Um6R1muk4LBxoCRjcQAvD_BwE

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
The axle continues to come loose. I am going to apply some locktite and see how that works. I find it strange after all this time/miles that this problem just now arises. It makes me think there could be another problem lurking in the shadows.

·
Elitest thrill junkie
36,016 Posts
Those DTs have to be pretty damn tight IME. Usually tighter than you’d think. Otherwise they loosen on you.

·