Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new fattie and I am thinking that Bud/Lou aren't the best choice for the other seasons. Heck they are pretty slow on packed trails already.

Few questions-

If a tire is sold out when will it be in stock again, like september/october?

I want a tire that can first be ridden well on dirt trails, second can handle a few inches of fresh snow till I swap out to the bigger rubber.

I am gonna be "that" guy who plans to show up on my fattie on group rides as well. I will also be running these tubeless using the gorilla tape method on Rolling Darryls. I have no experience on dirt at all and only have ridden Husker Du, Dillinger and Bud/Lou. I have ridden with people who have the Missions oem (and hate them), Nates and Snowshoes (again hate them on snow).

We dont have anything more than short punchy hills. Mostly dirt with some roots and a small amount of rock.

Any help is appreciated,

Rob

·
bigger than you.
3,070 Posts
I've been running a Vee 8 on the rear, mounted in reverse and a vee snowshoe up front. Where the snowshoe was lacking in the snow, it's awesome in sand, loam and hardpack. I'll most likely get a Vee H. Billie when they come out, but I really like this combo. Fast rolling, good traction and a price that can't be beat.

·
Registered
233 Posts
I used Knard/Knard on my Pugs last Summer/Fall and it was great for almost all the riding I did- trails, gravel and road.

I don't think you could go wrong with a couple On One Floaters as well, or a combination of Floater/Knard.

·
Registered
228 Posts
I'm that guy that shows up on his Fattie for group rides and I can tell you it has nothing to do with the tires, it's the engine. I've been running a front Nate and rear Knard and just switched to front Bud and rear Nate. I really like this combo. Still rolls great, has extra squish up front and the rear traction is amazing.

·
Registered
347 Posts