Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been lusting after eMTBs for several months. Bought a Sondors Thin for urban bike trails & errands in June. Its been a hoot!

My SC Hightower is almost perfect, but I'm not. Frankly tired of pushing it up hills to ride down. Then need a recovery day afterwards. Grrr...

Friends got eMTBs next. WOW, I think I need one of those to rescue my knee from pushing MTBs up hills!

Did much reading research & decided to demo the 2 that seemed the closest matchs to geometry, slackery, & all-mtn suspension of the Hightower. Wednesday was eMTB demo day!

Demos: Local hills with hero dirt & a little mud in the shade on a Specialized Turbo Levo (Brose, no dropper). Later I returned the TL & went to the other shop & street demoed the Trek Powerfly 8 FS (Bosch w dropper).

Friends rode their LaPierre hardtail w front susp (Bosch) and a Bulls Stream FS Enduro (Brose). We traded off & tested everything!

2077.jpeg

The TL seemed strong in the middle (trail) of three assist modes. Climbed the 900-ft hill easily. I needed to stop & pant 2-3 times, but it waited patiently!

It had a cheap 3-fixed-position dropper added by the shop that I had issues with occasionally. Made me miss my reverb. The TL had tubeless Minion HDR2s, just like my Hightower. :) I felt very comfortable getting frisky with these tires on familiar trails!

Flowing down hills the brakes, tires, & TL worked great! My only complaint was my fit to the large frame. The seat post was too tall for me. With dropper fully compressed, the seat was still too high to get comfortable in a downhill, ass-behind-the-seat position.

Back to climbing switchbacks with the TL in Trail or Turbo assist modes, it was difficult to stay vertical, balanced, & pedaling lightly thru the turn. The power assist would sometimes drop out & surge back causing a loss of balance.