Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I can't decide between the Heckler - Blur LT - and Nomad.

SO I would greatly appreciate if some of you more experienced santa cruz people out there give me your opinions...

I've been mountain biking for 8 years now, but wasn't serious until about 2 years ago. I've been using the same bike for those 8 years (GT aggressor 2.0) so I think an upgrade is justified. Plus this last season I trashed my bike.

During riding season I go for about 2+ hour rides 2-4X's a week. I've really been dying to get more technical but always feel like I'm going to wreck in my current setup. I'd consider my riding type to be AM. I want to get better at both climbing and descending and my near future goal is to start hitting some of 3 foot drops I've been shying away from.

Are the blur and nomad too much bike for me?
What makes the 100 dollar difference in the nomad over the blur lt?
Would the heckler be the best starting point for me, coming from an old cheap hardtail?

Thanks

·
a.k.a Slacker
535 Posts
In my not so humble opinion. I would choose the Nomad - since you say your riding type is AM.

I would also say, I started out with a Heckler - it too was a great bike, but I think if you've got the cash, the VPP bikes might be a good transition for you. Some people like the simplicity of the Single Pivot though, which is fine, but the VPP is more efficient at climbing.

With that said, I would pick the Nomad over the LT, well actually I don't have a good reason, aside from a little bit more travel. What I'm trying to say is, at that point, you're probably going to have to evaluate if you're going to progress even more and continue ride agressively, or if you are going to be an in betweener (in which case the LT would be a fine machine as well).

·
mtbr Decade+
1,545 Posts