Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my girlfriend an I are thinking about purchasing Niner Rip nines. She is 5'5" tall and the small appears to be able to accommodate her with a short stem (75mm perhaps). I found a good deal online for her but it is a 2X10 SRAM setup.
My question is this: Would a 2X10 be geared low enough for a small framed female rider who used granny gear often on her 3x9 setup (with a 11/34 cassete. I have no experience with the new 2x10 format and would like know if you need to be a stud to climb with this set up. Any info will help... tim

·
The Road Warrior
622 Posts
tmccrohon said:
Hi, my girlfriend an I are thinking about purchasing Niner Rip nines. She is 5'5" tall and the small appears to be able to accommodate her with a short stem (75mm perhaps). I found a good deal online for her but it is a 2X10 SRAM setup.
My question is this: Would a 2X10 be geared low enough for a small framed female rider who used granny gear often on her 3x9 setup (with a 11/34 cassete. I have no experience with the new 2x10 format and would like know if you need to be a stud to climb with this set up. Any info will help... tim
I learned how to ride hills on a 55 single ring. Put up or shut up

·
Lets ride!
362 Posts
What is smallish? Leroy use smallish in a sentence...

Man I was in pool and my nuts became smallish....shhhittt

She will be fine....Keep her lean .....if you know what I mean XXX

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
too funny, by smallish I mean 115 pounds and her legs don't generate the wattage of lance armstrong. She is improving but still uses her 22 front and 34 rear gear on climbs. I was wondering what the 2x10 gearing equated to.

·
Always Learning
9,608 Posts
tmccrohon said: