Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
rider
2,356 Posts
29t not possible on 104mm BCD. If you can find a 30t in that BCD it won't be round. 31t rings do exist for sure.

For the definitive answer on this subject:
[email protected]

He has taken over production of the Boone Ti chainrings. I'm running a 29t Boone ring on a 94mm BCD 5 arm crank. Shifts great. But I did have to file for chain sideplate clearance on the ends of the 5 arms.

·
meow?
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm not apposed to modding my cranks some, but can't you only use the Extralite as a little ring?

heard great things out of the Boone/Brown camp, but I had a buddy trying to get a ring out of them for a couple of months and that was a standard 32t. I wonder if I could get a custom in a decent amount of time?

what I'm trying to do is gear my bike for how out of shape I am. I have a 5" 26" bike that I have been riding for over 2 years and decided to try out a 29r. I'm running it 3x9 w/ 11-34 and don't really ever use the granny on all our local trails. I bought a Karate Monkey and set it up as a 1x9, 32t w/ 11-34. unfortunately I've only ridden it one time and the gearing was just to big for my conditioning, I think a 30t would be perfect though. I made it up all the climbs, but it just wiped me out.

most people seem to say a 20t/30t combo would be perfect, just thought there might be some options I wasn't aware of.

JW

·
try driving your car less
3,097 Posts
might be cheaper/easier to get a square taper 5 bolt 94 mm BCD crank and a 30t ring. those rings are readily available. the BBs are cheap and easy to get. then got to ebay or whatever for some raceface cranks or some such thing. just an option to throw out there.

The other option for your existing cranks is to just put on a 'big' granny ring and ride that.

IwantCake said:
I'm not apposed to modding my cranks some, but can't you only use the Extralite as a little ring?