Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Cross Country Rider
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a Cross Country beginner, and I am planning to buy a new bike, I was recommended to buy a 29er single speed, so I wanted to know what are the advantages and disadvantages does it have in comparison to a 26in full suspension 24Speed MTB.?

·
Registered
1,878 Posts
pros: lighter weight, less parts to break, never having to think about what gear to be in, 29" wheels have more contact area with the ground which means more grip

cons: 29" wheels and tires are less common that 26", 26" wheels can do anything a 29" wheel can, you only have one gear which might mean you'll be doing more walking

i say if your only gonna own one bike your better off with more traditional geared 26" bike.

·
Cross Country Rider
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I currently have a Mongoose Wing Comp Full Suspension 21Speed. This one is the botton line of the Mongoose pro line. I know is the best stuff for racing, that is why I am starting to search for a better quality bike, even though I have not race with the Mongoose. but I want to make sure that next bike that I buy will be good for XC race.

·
Registered
119 Posts