Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok im fairly new to mountain biking, i have been doing this sence 2005 and have never really been that serious, the last few races of 2008 in the psycowpath series i took 1st on the podium all 3 times. im planning to stay in junior this year but also race unofficially in "sport." so my big question is what is the best bike i can get for the buck? my dad is willing to spend up too $1,500. and i want a good competive XC racing bike. we were looking at the "Felt nine comp." and the "specialized rockhopper pro" which 1 would be the best deal? any other bikes come to mind? open 4 suggestions
~thanx~

·
Administrator
11,966 Posts
Caffeine Powered said:
Have your dad buy you this bike. Don't ride until your homework is done.
yes I saw that bike yesterday and it is a really nice looking bike. Well speced and fisher geo #'s. Best advice though is to test ride all the bikes you are interested in and pick the one that you are most comfortable on.

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
around here you're going to get a VERY bias opinion... ride as many as you can in/under your price point and see what you like... that being said the fisher looks sweet

every person i've put on my 29er (rigid no less) is amazed at how it rolls over roots and stuff... which we have a lot of at least for FL...

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
ok well thanx for the garry fisher.... dont think ill be able to get my Dad to pay for it .. he was talking $1,500 max price...
so do ppl like the 29 for racing better than the 26-ers? and do the 29's do okay in techincal areas??? just want some info on them
many thanx

·
Premium Member
2,381 Posts
i put a friend of mine on one of my rigid 29ers and he was amazed at how it just rolled over roots and such... things he had problems with on his hard tail 26er...