Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now that I know my riding preferences I'm thinking a 29er hardtail might be best for me theoretically but my experience is limited to my 26" FS Diamondback Sortie 1 which I have been riding for two years now. I ride mostly single track trails and my biggest weakness is climbing steeper hills, especially while dodging pedal high rocks. I don't ride technically challenging terrain. Going downhill is easy for me where I ride. Here are the reasons I think a 29er hardtail might be my best choice.

*A lighter and stiffer hard tail might help me get up hills better and since going downhill isn't a problem for me.... However, maybe I'm not strong enough to appreciate a stiffer bike.
*I am way past my prime and not going to become an aggressive rider.
*I ride over a lot of soft dirt and loose rock and gravel but most of the time I ride on decent quality packed dirt.
*I never jump anything or drop off anything bigger than a curb.
*It seems to me a carbon hardtail would be comfy enough, especially since my hybrid without suspension is tolerable.
*Everywhere I ride is ridden at least occasionally by people on cyclocross bikes.
*For the last couple of months I have been riding an old hybrid with no suspension. With it I don't miss the suspension and I think the bigger tires ride over rocks and gravel better even though the tires are narrow.

Concerns:
-Since hardtails are popular for racing and I am relatively slow and weak, maybe I shouldn't get one.
-Maybe a 27.5 would be better.
-I do ride on switchbacks occasionally. At first they were real challenging for me on my 26" bike but they are not a problem for me now. New sticky tires downhill switchbacks much easier.

A bike I am considering is the Giant XTC Composite 29er: XtC Composite 29er 1 (2014) | Giant Bicycles | United States

I'd appreciate any feedback.
Thanks,

·
Long Live the Gorn!
336 Posts