Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I am in the market for a new bike and I am sold on making the change to a 29er.

I am 5'11, 185lb, and medium build. I am going to go with a medium frame and have tested out bot the Trek X-Caliber and the Giant XTC 29er 2. The X-Cal feels a bit lighter to me than the XTC, though the XTC feels a bit more solid than the X-Cal.

I am torn on which bike will offer better performance based on the components:
Frame - X-cal vs. XTC
Forks - Rockshox Reba SL vs. Marzocchi Forty-Niner TST2
Disc Brakes - Avid Juicy 3's vs. Shimano Alivio
Shifters/Cassette - Sram X7 vs. Shimano Deore

I am on the fence on both and think they are both great 29er options for the $1,000 - $1,500 budget which I have set for my purchase.

Thoughts on the better of the two setups? I have been riding a specialized rockhopper for 5 years and looking for a change.

Thanks,
Dave

·
Registered
326 Posts