Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting ready to build a FS 29er. I live in the Ozarks and have access to an abundance of awesome trails. Lots of rock gardens grueling climbs and fun descents. Im new to the sport I have been riding for two weeks, all my buddies have been at it for 7-10 years and they finally got me to try it and I am all in. Luckily I have been able to ride a lot of high end bikes. Titus El Guapo, Intense Tracer, Gary Fisher Fat Possum XT and a Motobecane. I am 5'10" and weigh around 210 pounds. The frames I am considering are the Pivot Mach 429, Intense Tracer 29, Diamondback Sortie 29 Black and the Turner Sultan. Im leaning towards the Pivot but any advice would be appreciated

On another note these are the only frame brands for Mountain Bikes my LBS deals in(as well as Fuji and Raliegh) we are all extremely loyal to him. His customer service and bike tuning is second to none and his prices are unbeatable so that's why those are the frame models I am looking at.

·
Trail Junkie
2,210 Posts
There are two perspectives to look at this..Do you want a XC bike that will be more "climb happy" and efficient or do you want a burly all-mountain that will allow you to get away with making some mistakes or take bad lines and get away with it?

They are both great bikes that are well build and up to the task of handling your soon to be slimming 210lb.

I have rode Syllamo MTB trails, I don't know if this is your backyard or not, but when I rode there it was a mix. Some trails were definitely refined and more XC, and some had some gnar going on. I got away with 120mm Blur Classic at the time when I rode there, and that bike handled what I was riding....your trails may be different.