Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am running a Small Block 8 in the rear and a Nevegal in the front. Both are 2.1’s. I just started playing around with my new ride and am dialing everything in. I weigh in at about 215 and was looking to short cut the trial and error process. Is anybody in my boat that can offer up a psi recommendation and reason? I know I will only get close with a suggestion but I was curious as to what others were doing. Thanks.

·
Registered
100 Posts
kona kula 2-9 set up as a ss, nevegal 2.1's front and rear, 25 - 28 psi both tires...but i'm 145. i ride on rocks mostly (french creek state park) but have run them as low as 20 if on a trail with less rock. the bike is also fully rigid so there is no give like on a full squishy.

·
Administrator
11,966 Posts
30lbs is a good baseline. I judge accordingly to how sketchy they feel in hard sticky corners and that depends on the tire of course and how many close calls with rocks to rims I get per ride. I like to keep them at about 1 per ride front and none rear.

I ride a rigid with rampage/saguro combo in arizona with tubes and probably around your weight with gear.

·
Expert Crasher
6,359 Posts
28 front (ardent) / 32 rear (python) both tubeless - but I tailor it to the trail. My home trail is really rooty so any less and I'll bottom on the rim too often.

·
Registered
501 Posts
I run the same pressure as Nitrousjunky on my Monocog Flight with tubes. Weirwolf 2.55 up front, Nanoraptor 2.1 in the rear. Only other difference is that I'm 260 geared up. I've never pinched and never felt the wheel bottom out. More of it is going to depend on your terrain and your ability to pick a decent line rather than what everybody else is doing.

·
Registered
192 Posts
I am 150 lbs

Exiwolf frt at 20 PSI
Crossmark Rr at 20 PSI

I was running the small block 8, but the sidewalls are just too flimsy for me. You can definitely feel the difference.