Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi mtbr users.

I'm new in all of this 29" stuff, but I've desided over x-mas that I'll give the big wheels a go. I've already decided that I'm going to get at Niner Air 9 (don't know if i'll get the carbon one tho) but I've got major problems desiding wich wheels to get. I'm all XC and a bit of a WW. Price is not a great issue, but no more than 800 USD if possible.

What to buy :madman:

·
Banned
7,930 Posts
Drea said:
Hi mtbr users.

I'm new in all of this 29" stuff, but I've desided over x-mas that I'll give the big wheels a go. I've already decided that I'm going to get at Niner Air 9 (don't know if i'll get the carbon one tho) but I've got major problems desiding wich wheels to get. I'm all XC and a bit of a WW. Price is not a great issue, but no more than 800 USD if possible.

What to buy :madman:
Stan's Arches on DT Swiss Comp spokes, with the hub of your choice... Hadleys, Chris Kings, or DT Swiss 240S. If you are a clyde over 200 #'s, go with StansFlows, not Arches. Edit: 165 #'s go with the 355's if you ride smooth and pick clean lines, Arches if you make some mistakes along the way, they are quite a bit more foregiving, without too great a weight penalty.

·
Registered
385 Posts
azjonboy said:
1600 for a 29er wheelset is pretty light.
:rolleyes: Yep....the closest I found on Stan's wheel weight calculator was 1520g using the 355 rim....the AC tubeless rim is 28mm wide and 20mm tall and looks to be much stronger...but thats just speculation....althought I will have a set of these at my door anyday now:cool:

but the OP being 165lbs...weight is more an issue than strenght I'm guessing.....

·
Registered
406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
From looking at them the rims looks heavy, I would rather have a heavy hub, than a heavy rim? This in mind. Wouldn't a light rim as the ZTR and a hub like CK, Hope or DT be more sensible?

·
Banned
7,930 Posts