Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I am looking at getting a new mountain, but I can't decide on a 29 inch tire or a 27.5. I want to be able to do the features that I have difficulty with now with my 26 inch, but don't want those features to be too easy so I never learn how to do them. Am I over thinking it?

Please help

Thank you!
Kristie

·
Registered
4,198 Posts
You do know that there is less than a ½ inch difference in radius between a 26" wheel and a so called 27.5?

·
Registered
3,713 Posts
Go test ride some bikes and see what YOU like. All you are going to get with your question here is 29er fans saying get a 29er and 27.5 fans saying go 27.5. There is a huge difference between the two, and you need to decide for yourself which works for your riding style and trails.

·
Registered
39 Posts
I'm a relative novice but I have a 29" Scott Spark and a cheap motobecane 27.5" hardtail. From riding both of those, I decided to get a 27.5" Pivot Mach 6 which I just got a couple of days ago.

This is my take so far.

The 29" feels more stable and is smoother over small closely spaced bumps. Some trails here have lots of roots and it's nicer on that. The rocks at monte sano park, though, were a bit rough with the 100mm suspension. Plus the large tires went where they wanted to and it was generally harder to correct my riding mistakes compared the the 27.5".

The 27.5" makes me feel like I have a lot more control. I can maneuver it to where I want when I want and can correct bad turns easier. The 29" seemed more like I was just along for the ride.

For my size (5'8"), I think the 29" would be best for XC and the 27.5" for rougher stuff. Then again a long travel 29" might be perfect for everything.

·
Rogue Exterminator
4,951 Posts