Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't want to double post but someone from "What bike to buy" suggest I look to the other big boys/girls. I'm only 5'10".....and a half:rolleyes: but just a hair over 260lbs. My biggest questions are how much does my weight factor into travel and how important the rear lock out ability is? (strange grammar!) Here's my post in the other section.

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=261005

Thanks guys!

Matt

·
long standing member
3,099 Posts
Soar Thumbs said:
My biggest questions are how much does my weight factor into travel and how important the rear lock out ability is?
I'll preface by saying that I'm just getting into the dual suspension game myself, so take my $0.02 for what it's worth.

I don't think your weight factors into how much travel you need. Get the amount of travel and the type of bike that matches your intended use. Shock sag can be set to the appropriate level with the proper air pressure (or coil spring rate if it's a coil shock). It's not like heavier guys need more travel than lighter guys. However, we can be harder on equipment so it's likely that we need a strong enough frame and sometimes stronger components.

In comparing the Enduro to the Stumpjumper I'd look first at what kind of riding you want to do. The Enduro has more travel so will probably be more forgiving on the rougher downhills and has the capability to take bigger hits (drops and jumps). On the other hand, the Stumpjumper is probably lighter weight and a bit more efficient pedaler. Still likely does OK with technical riding with 5" of travel, just not as well as the Enduro.