Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
817 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a set of spinnergy wheels , Iam replacing the front wheel with a P35 wheel. I really don't know what to expect since i have never used a wide rims before. Can i get some feedback on your going from narrow rims to wide please.

Thanks,

B-Ray

·
Registered
9,368 Posts
B-RAY said:
I have a set of spinnergy wheels , Iam replacing the front wheel with a P35 wheel. I really don't know what to expect since i have never used a wide rims before. Can i get some feedback on your going from narrow rims to wide please.

Thanks,

B-Ray[/QUOTE

The profile of the tire will change. On wider rear wheels I was able to drop the pressure slightly because I wasn't pinch flatting as much. I am not sure you will notice a big difference unless you riding agressively - wider wheel will support a tire better.

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
B-RAY said:

Thanks,

B-Ray
I found I could run the same medium volume tire at lower pressure without getting sidewall squirm, but that was also low enough that I started getting pinch flats when I did not flat on the narrow rim.

The handling changed slightly, but there was little change in "cush." had to use lower pressure on the wider rim to get the same feel.

Wider/high volume tires tend to work better on the wide rims.

·
Registered
817 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you two for taking the time to help me out. I just got my dissent tire and put it on the spinergy aired it up to 40 psi to let it grow some over night.

·
Premium Member
48,238 Posts
B-RAY said:
Thank you two for taking the time to help me out. I just got my dissent tire and put it on the spinergy aired it up to 40 psi to let it grow some over night.
Dissents are great on 35mm rims.

·
turtles make me hot
11,604 Posts