Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to full suspension bikes, and I would like to know if adding travel to both front and rear will pretty much make the bike ride like stock. Of course it's not going to be the same but maybe it won't be that drastic? I know it's going to be tough to find a rear shock that's the same length eye to eye but with more travel. I am not planning on adding more than 10mm over stock. So if anyone has done this can you please tell me how it went? Thanks

·
Registered
772 Posts
What's your purpose to adding more suspension? Adding travel will absolutely make the bike ride differently. Changing that stuff out is going to be expensive also. If you're bottoming out, the suspension is probably not setup properly for how you're riding, which can be changed very easily through more pressure, tokens. If you didn't buy enough bike, sell it and get a bigger travel bike.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The main reason really is so I can go off bigger drops without bottoming out. On smaller drops like 3-4ft drops it's great. Anything bigger and it bottoms out. On really chunky sections I would like to have more plush without having to reduce to much air pressure. I guess my idea is if I add just 10mm of travel to both front and rear it won't be that much of a difference since your technically not over loading either by just adding say to the fork only. Maybe I just need to buy a fork and shock with more adjustability, either way I will spending some good chunk of cash.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Don't want to get a real big bike because 99% of the time I am riding pretty smooth trails with a some steep climbs. I guess I could just get another bike which I might. But maybe it would be cheaper to just add travel to have just one bike.

·
Registered
7,061 Posts