Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

2021-22 Devinci Troy or Rocky Mountain Instinct

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster here. Lots of very helpful folks and I really appreciate the knowledge I've gained just by reading here.

I have been out of the biking game for a while but I've got the "bug" again and have been doing a ton of research, reading as much as I can, renting what I can, and watching every YouTube video I can find. Things have changed so much since I've last bought a bike (2008). I've visited every single bike shop in my city and I've got my choice narrowed down to the two bikes in the subject line. I would love to get some input because I have to order sight unseen and without trying them due to the current market.

I am 5'9" - 5'10", 170lbs. I'm an experienced rider but I am no professional. Riding will be primarily in & around Calgary, Alberta area (Canmore Nordic, Beaumont, WestBragg, COP Bike Park (groomed), etc.) For those not familiar with the area, I won't be doing any double blacks, crazy features or 15ft drops but I like to ride hard on the greens, blues, and smooth jump trails. Techy blacks are OK. Basically a lot of mixed climbing and descending. If I go to a big bike park like Whistler, I will rent a proper DH bike, so I don't need it to bridge that gap. I want the most capable bike I can possibly buy without hating life on the climbs and without buying a 40lb 170mm Enduro bike. This seems to put me in the "all mountain" or "beefy trail bike" category.

So what would you guys pick and why?

The Troy has the best spec I think, possibly a stronger frame, and appears to be slightly better value for the money:

Troy Carbon|Alu GX 12S - Black Edition

Devinci Troy Carbon/Alu GX12S
Fox36 Performance GRIP 150mm
Fox DPX2 Performance Elite 140mm
Carbon front triangle / Aluminum rear triangle
RaceFace AR35 wheels
Factor Hubs
Full SRAM GX Drivetrain