Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am just getting into mountain biking. I went to my local Trek store and was offered a 2019 Fuel EX 5 plus (msrp - $2300) at the same price as a 2020 Roscoe 8 ($1700). Is this a no brainer decision? I plan to ride mostly trials with an occasional trip to a bike park (Blue Mountain). Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

John

·
Registered
12 Posts
I feel like at that price point you would be better off with the Roscoe, a quick look at the specs of the Fuel EX 5 Plus is less than ideal to me at least. For a little extra you could get a discounted 2019 Remedy 7.

·
Registered
156 Posts
Ex5!

I have a '17 EX5 and it's awesome! I upgraded the wheel-set so I could run tubeless but that's about the only thing I've changed aside from pedals and grips. The geometry is spot on and it's handled everything I've thrown at it here in New England. Definitely glad I went with it! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
156 Posts
I have a '17 EX5 29er and it's awesome! I upgraded the wheel-set so I could run tubeless but that's about the only thing I've changed aside from pedals. The geometry is spot on and it's handled everything I've thrown at it here in New England. Definitely glad I went with it!

·
Registered
526 Posts
I'd also go with the EX5. It's a great frame that will serve you well. You can always upgrade stuff as you wear it out or find it doesn't suit you. Lower end parts these days are still very good and absolutely usable.

A Roscoe will always be a hardtail and might leave you wanting more. I don't see myself every riding a hardtail again.

Disclaimer: i have a Fuel EX

·
Registered
61 Posts