Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What do I need to get more travel out of stock 120 RockShox Revelation RC. I don't mind the altered geo but I don't want to break my bike. Is there a safety rating on the geo or travel?I've read several of you steel Honzo owners rocking 140mm of travel. Can my Aluminum frame take the pounding. I weigh 225.

Also how do you ramp up the Revelation properly. My LBS SME said the 140mm DebonAir upgrade will only cost $45 to order the part and $90 to install. To do it right I would also need the Charger 2 RCT3 Damper Upgrade kit $240, which is adjustable for High and low speed compression dampening, and overall performance benefits.

We did add 2 more tokens so now I'm running 6 total @ 120 but still very confused, I'm really new to aggressive MTB riding and I'm on the right path but need more guidance and education on this one.

"RockShox Revelation RC Solo Air 120mm Tapered 110mm Spacing"

KONA BIKES | MTB | HONZO | Honzo AL/DL

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
[email protected] was not too enthusiastic about my plans. Here's there rrsponse:

"Hi, the Honzo isn't made for a longer fork. You really do need to keep it the 120mm travel it
was made for.

When Dr Dew draws up a frame the first thing in the picture is the fork. After that the frame
follows. A longer fork will slacken he angles of the frame and cause the steering to wander on
climbs and the tire to push and loose traction on descents.

Also since the fork is no longer held at it's ideal angle to function extra energy will go into
bending it instead of compressing it. Plus since most forks use a bushing submerged in oil the
loose knocking feel when the fork is topped out will be increased. And last since the longer fork
is a longer lever in a big impact or overload the chance of that force being sent into the frame
and damaging it is greater.