Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am hoping to close a deal in the next couple weeks on a rip 9. It seems a pike is the upgrade to do vs wheels. What offset should I ask for if I do the pike upgrade? It will be a 140mm fork on a size medium.

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
I had a fox 34 before my pike and enjoyed its 51mm offset, so I went with the 51 pike, too. Love it!

·
Banned
2,416 Posts
51 for me as well.. 140mm on a RIP9 RDO size medium. Had the bike for a couple months now with over 200 miles on it and I still get excited for each ride!

·
Registered
334 Posts
My understanding was that the Rip was designed around a 46mm offset. So a 140 pike with 46mm offset is what I have waiting in a box patiently for my Rip9RDO to arrive.

My understanding is that the minimal difference in the 51mm offset will steer a little quicker. I have no real world experience with a 51mm offset fork though, I just know the theory/geometry behind the design change.

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What is the offset of the revelation?

Anyone here see the latest update from rs? They have an update to the monarch that puts it closer to the qualities of the pike. You will also be able to have your monarch upgraded for $115.

·
Registered
1,730 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My understanding was that the Rip was designed around a 46mm offset. So a 140 pike with 46mm offset is what I have waiting in a box patiently for my Rip9RDO to arrive.

My understanding is that the minimal difference is the 51mm offset will steer a little quicker. I have no real world experience with a 51mm offset fork though, I just know the theory/geometry behind the design change.
Wouldn't that get you a shorted wheelbase? If so a 46 offset should handle faster?

·
Registered
334 Posts

·
Carbon & Ti rule
5,410 Posts
I have the 46 off set on my Rip9 RDO & the 51 off set on my Rip9 Alloy.