Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everybody,

This is my first post and since I've not found an introduction sub-forum, I will use this section to introduce myself as well. My name is Daniel and I am a very new rider from Los Angeles. I stopped riding bikes 17 yrs ago and to keep things short right now I am very undecided about which bike to get.
Both of them will be in the same price range ~$1700 OTD.

The same LBS has also a 2011 Trek Fuel EX5 for the same price, but he dropped Trek recently and if something happens to the bike he would not be able to assist me with post-purchase support, which is free if I purchase either of the other two bikes.

KONA BIKES | 2014 BIKES | TRAIL DS | PRECEPT DL

Specialized Bicycle Components

As for what kind of riding I do, well I have no clue. For now this would be for me my only bike and as I said I am very new to mountain biking in general. I don't know what type of trails are around here, but based to my readings it seems that they come in any flavors and they are not even very far from where I am.

P.S.
I forgot to mention that I test rode both (on pavement), and I found out that with the camber I was not able to keep a straight line while climbing (this could be me since I am very inexperienced) while I loved the Kona smaller wheels, which made the bike agile, but also very predictable. The camber seemed lighter and also the braking and components in general seemed more solid.

Which one would you choose?

·
Registered
467 Posts
Based on those bikes the Spec Camber has the better parts on it, but it is a 29'er so there are pro's/con's in regards to the Kona 27.5. The Camber has a nicer fork which is a plus in my mind, but I personally hate the Avid brakes and had nothing but issues with mine that 3 different mechanics could not fix.