Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I recently picked up a 2011 Trek Paragon frame and I'm having some issues figuring out what cranksets/bb will work with this frame. I've done a little research and it looks like the BB shell is BB86 and it looks like there is a SRAM GXP BB that'll work (pardon if I'm confusing any of these terms, I'm new to the mtn bike component world). I found a thread on here where someone did a truvativ crankset (http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=655788) on this frame, but what other cranksets are compatible? I was browsing SRAMs site but it sounds like a lot of their cranksets are BB30/PF30.

Additional info; I'm setting this bike up with a 1x10, the rest of the drivetrain will be SRAM. I was originally interested in the e-thirteen xc crankset but unfortunately it's not compatible.

Any assistance would be great. Thanks in advance!!!

·
Registered
97 Posts
You will need to pick up either a sram or shimano pressfit bottom bracket from your Trek dealer. Then, you can use any external crankset...

·
Registered
15 Posts
klei2fast said:
You will need to pick up either a sram or shimano pressfit bottom bracket from your Trek dealer. Then, you can use any external crankset...
This is correct. I run XO 2X10 on my 2011 Paragon. Just contact your Trek dealer.

·
Registered
762 Posts
jeremyhcd said:
Thanks a bunch guys!

I was doing a bit more research last night. Would this work or do I need to actually get something specific from Trek?

http://cgi.ebay.com/SRAM-TRUVATIV-G...ps=63&clkid=7651473936903155214#ht_500wt_1156
Hi Jeremy, I'm 99% confident that ceramic BB you found should fit OK.

Having said that, I'd want some convincing about its value-for-money. Agreed, it's fitted with ceramic bearings, which should spin forever. BUT equally, so do ABEC 5 bearings which makes 'em better value in my book. Have a chat to EnduroForkSeals if you're interested. Just my 2 cents :)

·