Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
searcher
874 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Be aware: The Spec 2.2 Captain tire is too big for the '09 FTM in the rear! It was rubbing the lower part as soon as I sat on the bike. I ended up replacing it with a FastTrak 2.0.
The Captain will go on the front as soon as the Kenda wears out.
I know there are not too many Specialized fans around here, but I have to tell you, I have some good experience with their tires in the past. I hope these new ones will be good , too.
They def looks good and the other good thing is that they no longer have the big Specialized sign on their sidewall.

Attachments

·
Bike Addiction
763 Posts
I didn't like my captains at all when I first got them on a FSR XC and replaced them with Kendas. After about 8 months of learning to ride and spending too much money I got the tires back down and put them on my RX and I think I like them now. They roll better then the Neve stick-e. Grip is not as good but I have learned that there is give and take in that area. I kind of like the big white letters

·
ಠ_ಠ
3,190 Posts
Kovi,

Try the Geax Saguaro 2.2 TNT. It has a similar tread pattern, and it's tubeless ready (just add a some sealant).

I'm liking them a lot right now on the MotoLite.

·
searcher
874 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
dulyebr said:
Kovi,

Try the Geax Saguaro 2.2 TNT. It has a similar tread pattern, and it's tubeless ready (just add a some sealant).

I'm liking them a lot right now on the MotoLite.
Thx, I might do that, but I am covered now for the next few months.

·
Not all pain is gain...
64 Posts
Yeah, Specialized needs help with their tire dimensions. The 2.2's are bigger than most 2.3's out there. I'm a big fan of both the FastTrak 29 2.0 and the Captain 29 2.0's though. Great tires IMO. The Fast Trak's are definitely faster rolling but don't do as well in the soft stuff as the Captains.

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
Yeah, Specialized needs help with their tire dimensions