Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
OnTheTrailAgain
2,165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here are the choices I'm considering for my first Full Suspension buy...

1. '09 Gary Fisher Roscoe I
2. '08 Gary Fisher HiFi Deluxe
3. '09 Santa Cruz Blur LT
4. '08 Pivot Mach 5

I've only ridden the HiFi (which I really liked).
I'm leaning toward the Roscoe for it's features.
Waiting to ride the rest.

Riding: XC, Singletrack, Epics.

Thinking of the pros of going with a big brand manufacturer
(for warranty reasons and service availability),
but the lesser known brands seem to offer more bang for the buck.

Would appreciate any help/suggesstions/experiences.
Thanks! :thumbsup:

·
Registered
46 Posts
I have a Yeti 575 that i just started riding. I have a Talas 140mm on it, so it's more of a trail build than an All Mountain, and it's great. You can probably get an '08 for well under 3K

·
The Martian
1,200 Posts
I was going to throw Yeti in there too. Since it's already been done I'll give more general advice.

Ride EVERYTHING you can get your hands on within a reasonable drive; then decide what works best for you. All the normal players are well designed capable bikes, but they all have different fit and ride characteristics. I know one stood out for me (a Yeti ASR)

Other good bikes to consider are the Trek EX, Cannondale Rush/Rize/Moto, Titus Racer X/Motolite

·
Registered
310 Posts
I love the Pivot, however I couldn't find one with the parts I wanted for only $3k so I ended up with an Iron Horse MkIII instead. Same suspension design without the price tag of a boutique frame. I love the bike and it is a much better ride then any of the other bikes I've every owned.