Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My kids Pooygon Relic 24 came with the Shimano HG-200-8 12-32T drivetrain using a 32T chainring. He could use a couple lower gears for hills and as some on here said he is “leveling up” quickly.

He wants to ditch the grip shifter for triggers, and he wants a wider range of gears. I’m thinking of swapping out the cassette for a Sunrace 11-40T or Acolyte 12-42T, since the Tourney TX maxes out at 42T. But, if I do that I’m buying a new cassette and a new shifter, and at that point why not replace with a clutch derailleur?

I was looking at the Box Four group set, seems a bit spendy at $160. The Acolyte right around $135 seems more reasonable. Any quality differences? Both seem to have very positive reviews and I’m new to this whole thing.

Since he wants to dump the shifter replacing the derailleur at that point seems to make the most sense. Thoughts on that?

· Registered
1,100 Posts
Not sure on Box, but worth noting that the Acolyte shifter & derailleur use a different pull ratio than standard 8 speed -- so you'd need to make sure to match those up. Using the Tourney with the Acolyte shifter or the Acolyte RD with a Shimano 8 speed shifter wouldn't work.

I've been using them on my own bike with the 12-46t cassette and have been pretty happy with it so far. The cassette is all steel and pretty heavy compared to some of the Sunrace options, but I'm not too worried about it for myself since it's on an older steel bike with a rear rack that's usually carrying snacks & water.

· Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
@TimTucker if I went with either I'd do a full swap. The only option I'd stick with the Tourney is going with a SunRace cassette. I'm intrigued by the Box chain and chainring dedicated for an 8 speed.