Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Something goes here...
2,109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding 2x9 friction shifters for over 2 years now. They've served their purposed and I'm moving up to a 1x10 brifter set up. I'm just curious what chain ring others are running up front? The cassette is 11-48, mostly flat-ish trails with climbing occasionally. I'm think 38T might hit the sweet spot but then again, I may spin out too quickly on the flats.

So what are you 1x10 riders riding?

·
Registered
161 Posts
What brifters are you using? 11-48 seems like it might not fit most set-ups? I run a 11-46 with a wolf tooth roadlink to extend the derailleur range and its not the smoothest thing out there. I am probably changing back to an 11-42 cassette soon. I run a 42t chanring with my 11-46.. probably go down to a 40t if I go back to the 11-42cassette.

I'm on a Sram Rival setup right now btw.

·
Registered
469 Posts
It's going to depend on a lot of factors, which chainring you want. Intended use, tire size, max cadence, etc. For my gravel bike, I use it mostly for dirt roads, some light low elevation trails, and only ride pavement to get to the next road/trail. It use a 38t chainring with a 10-42t cassette and 29x2.1 tires. I have not found a situation where I'd want higher or lower gearing for the riding I do.

·
Something goes here...
2,109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I picked up the Microshift brifters, derailleur and cassette. It should work fine. I had a hard time finding anything in stock (haven't we all) and I wanted to see how the new Microshift Advent X series is. It's gotten good reviews and is a heck of a lot cheaper than the other 2 big boys. I really wanted Shimano GRX but for double the cost, it was hard to justify since the friction shifters have worked well so far.

·
Registered
161 Posts