Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've recently started my craze for mountain biking and I love it. i rented a cannondale 29er a couple weeks ago and rode it in palo duro canyon (in Texas) which was awesome. Well I recently just bought a Gravity 27.5 FSX 15 in and haven't recieved it yet but I have ridden similar before and feel more comfortable than the 29. I'm just starting out so I still get a little skittish on higher drops and fast pace (I'm a wimp, I know) But I was looking for some tips on how to get over that and just enjoy the ride!
Also, will the butt pain ever go away? Lol

·
Registered
666 Posts
No real secret, start with stuff you feel comfortable with, master that, and slowly move out of your comfort zone.

If you can, have a fried take video of you clearing stuff, study your video, and then wath other videos on youtube. Look for similarities and differences.

Experiment a little with your bike set up until you feel and one with your rig.

Enjoy the ride......don't get discouraged when you crash, it is going to happen. Consider buying some knee and elbow guards for peace of mind.....

sometime,I think you just need to hang on to your bike as it knows the easy way down......

No real secret

Reactions: NorCalTaz

·
Ride On!
1,046 Posts
Being relatively new myself, I can relate to being hesitant with drops, riding along single track near a large drop-off ect... My advice is to not worry about what other's think and take it easy, hell, you can easily screw-up a whole season with an injury. IMHO a good skill set will take some time to develop, other riders are a great source of advice on technique. Good Luck

·
Registered
666 Posts
Thought of one other suggestion, consider going to a bike skills camp or take some kind of course at a local hill.

Join organized group rides out of your LBS

·
EMBA Member
536 Posts